Ankylosing Spondylitis?

It may be.

What, you may ask, is Ankylosing Spondylitis?  A new type of bug?  A bacteria growing in my toilet?

Nope.  It’s none of these silly things you never thought it was.

AS may however be the answer to why I’ve been having recurring rectal bleeding for the last few years, and recurring back pain for the last 8.

My physician recently did some blood tests and x-rays of my back.  He found that I have sacroiliitis, an inflamation in the sacroiliac joint. This may be the result of several years of Ankylosing Spondylitis.  (See, you know I wouldn’t leave you without a link to follow)

Now – from what I can tell, AS is uncurable,  degeneritive, and causes chronic back pain and deformity of the spine.  It sounds bad.  It is an autoimmune disease, and responds well to immunosuppresants – as long as the patient doesn’t develop any infections while on them.

It can cause injury if a patient with advanced spinal rigidity falls or has an accident, as the spinal cord is more easily damaged in a rigid spine – however, that is an advanced case.

I need to see a Rheumatologist to properly diagnose me – and really, I’m going to be doing the same things I’m doing now, but with different drugs so I sleep better at night and bleed out my anus less.  Sounds good to me. (Or I won’t have it, and that’ll be even cooler – unless they invent something worse for me to have!)

It could cause problems down the road, but it seems to be a slow acting disease, so I’m unlikely to see immediate worsening of symptoms.  I guess the downside is that I’m already 8-10 years into it, as it’s visible on an x-ray.  But hey – we take what we get right?

Anyway – doubtless more to come on this topic as I find out more.

2 responses to “Ankylosing Spondylitis?

  1. Wow definitely let us all know what the doctor’s say!! It’s about time they came up with some ideas ( but still hope it’s not ) I guess you just want to KNOW and have some idea of treatment. If the doctor tells you that you should stop riding your bike, you have my permission to ignore him…for a while.

    (((((((((hugs)))))))

    “Aunty”

  2. Great read.

    Make sure to check out Ankylosing Spondylitis for your number one Ankylosing Spondylitis source on the internet.

Leave a Reply

