Ficlet Repost #2

Here is another one.  This one was a challenge as well, and the challenge was to tell a humorous holiday story using only dialogue.  I wanted to play around with accents, and this is what I came up with.  Let me know what you think.

****

 Christmas Ink {Kermitgorf Challenge}

“So, he just like, got it for me, y’know?”

“Really? He just got it for you?”

“Yeah, y’know. I’d been telling him I wanted one for a bit, droppin hints and stuff y’know.”

“Like – just … got it for you?”

“Yeah. How many times I hafta tell ya y’know. He dinnit say anyfing, just got it for me.”

“Wow. I wish my chappie was like that. I bin droppin hints for weeks about that wee locket at Hampsteads – he jus’ always tells me we aint got much free loot.”

“Yeah. Pretty nice right? I dinnit even have to drop many hints. Just nicked ‘is wallet and went and got it.”

“Nicked ‘is wallet? I thought you jus’ said he got it for you?”

“Yeah, that what I said? I guess he did right? Maybe he dinnit know he was, but he did it. And ‘sides, he’ll like it right?”

“Sure he’ll like it. I mean, what kind of chappie wouldn’t want ‘is tramp wearin somfing like that?”

“They spelled Chris’mas right dinnit they?”

“Yep. Good tattooers those chaps. But I thought ‘is name was Curt, not Burt?”

****

This story (like all ficlets) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.5 License. What does this mean?

Leave a Reply

