Magma and my old house.

My old house will soon be covered in a steaming heap of magma.

Maybe not exactly.

I spent many of my formative years growing up in Gillies Crossing, a suburb of Nazko. That is to say, Gillies Crossing is a name of a couple of chunks of property at the crossing of the Euchiniko River (which runs into the Blackwater right nearby). About 30km NE of Nazko. Nazko, a village and First Nations Reservation (sounds weird…Indian Rez is how I’d have said and heard it growing up) is about 100km west-ish of Quesnel.

Nazko has a defunct volcano, part of a chain of volcanoes stretching from here to the Pacific Ocean. It’s in the news lately as it has been causing lots of earthquakes this week – and now steam is reportedly rising from the area. By lots of earthquakes I mean over 100 between .5 and 3.2 on the Richter Scale.

Volcanoligists (who may or may not live long and prosper, and are not to be confused with Vulcanoligists) are so excited about the news they’re shaking. (ba dum-dum-dum)

To be fair, the volcano in question is about 20km from Nazko itself, and probably won’t endanger anyone’s life. Their cattle, trees and other property however, that could be a different story.

On a tangential note – all our forests here are primarily Pine. We’ve been hit with a devastating case of Mountain Pine Beetle epidemic – all our pine is dead or dying. Our forests are dry and ready to be kindled by flaming lava flows – the real natural disaster here could be forest fire related, rather than seismic or volcanic.

Hmm.

It sounds cooler when I say my old house in Nazko is going to be covered in a heap of fiery magma.

5 responses to “Magma and my old house.

  1. Man… I never thought about the forest fire potential on this one.

    Could be pretty smokey around here soon….

  2. That has to be the fastest comment ever.

    You win.

    PS – I updated this with links since you read it probly – ‘less you read it again.

  3. hahahaha! Can you tell I get bored at work? :)

  4. What house are you talking about? We now own the only private property at Gillies that I know of.

  5. Well, I’ve lived in lots of places out there. At Gillies specifically we lived in the property behind the Ministry of Forests cabin, that would have been when I was in about grade 2, so …..

    (quick math)

    1985, 87ish or something.

    We lived also across the river in the house which is now burnt down, which we bought from Fred Story in about ’93.

    We also lived across from Kishkan’s at Red Creek, in a house behind the Nazko General Store and out at First Creek I think it’s called, someone from the states still owns it I believe.

    I believe there are still two private properties at Gillies with houses on them – Ron Thompson may still own one set back where the river flows down and joins the lakes, and last time I was out there the main place at Gillies behind the forestry was there – Zamponi’s owned it at one time – is that the place you guys have now?

    Are you living out there regularly, or summer staying or….

Leave a Reply

